Andrei Sakharov Birthday Concert

Performance by Aleksei Botvinov

May 13, 2022, 18.30-20.00 – VMU Great Hall

After sensational success in Switzerland, Germany and Ukraine - do not miss the premiere of the new unique project by Alexey Botvinov!

Alexey Botvinov, in collaboration with video artist VJ Videomatics, has been a pioneer in the genre of classic and video art synthesis for more than 10 years. During this time, dozens of immensely successful concerts were organized in the best concert halls, as well as in such iconic open-air spaces as Sofievska Square in Kyiv and the Potemkin Staircase in Odessa. Each concert was the next step in understanding the capabilities of modern multimedia technology and and a deeper penetration into the visual reality of music. The Piano Light Show takes the synthesis of video and classical music to a new qualitative level.

The Piano Light Show was first shown in May 2019 to a wide audience in the Tonhalle, the main Swiss concert hall in Zurich, followed by sold-out concerts in Hamburg and Odessa. To implement the project, the famous piano company KAWAI made a special modification of its flagship model of the large concert grand piano “KAWAI SHIGERU”. The success of the project exceeded expectations - video mapping onto a white piano with the creative know-how of VJ Videomatics and Botvinova created a truly stunning visual and emotional wow effect!

The Piano Light Show is the triumphal result of a decade of creative quest by a pianist and video artist, a completely exclusive and innovative art concept.
On May 14th, Alexei Botvinov will perform works by Bach, Chopin, Rachmaninov, Alemdar Karamanov, Philip Glass, Ludovico Einaudi. Video mapping - VJ Videomatics.
Become the witness of the birth of a new audiovisual reality!

On the program:
Bach-Busoni:             Chaconne in D minor

Chopin:                        Nocturne D flat major op. 27 N2

Rachmaninov:           Prelude G minor op.23 N5
                                       Prelude G sharp minor op.32 N12
                                       Prelude C minor op.23 N7

Philip Glass:               "Opening"
                                      "Tirol Concerto" 2 movement (arr. for piano solo by A. Botvinov)

Karamanov:               "Night Prayer" (arr. For piano solo by  .  .                                      A. Botvinov)

Ludovico Einaudi:     "Fly"


The Andrei Sakharov Research Center contributes to the development of a pluralist and democratic society in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.

Sign up for newsletters

Please provide your name and e-mail address:


Andrei Sakharov Research Center
Daukanto 27, offices 304-307
44249 Kaunas, Lithuania

In cooperation with